is carnosine gel just menthol
Two carnosine gels. One trial between them.
Carnosport states 4% carnosine and LactiGo does not state any. LactiGo has the trial and Carnosport cites it. Both facts are on this page.
Carnosport publishes its carnosine concentration — 4% L-carnosine — and LactiGo publishes none at all. That is a real point against the product this site sells. Everything else runs the other way. All four published trials of a carnosine gel used LactiGo, including the one that found nothing; Carnosport has never been tested; and Carnosport’s own science page cites the 2025 rugby sevens trial, which was run on the other product. The formulas differ on more than dose: LactiGo carries 1.25% menthol and magnesium sulphate in its standard version and is registered with the US FDA as an over-the-counter analgesic with menthol, not carnosine, as the active ingredient. Carnosport is made in Denmark, contains no menthol and no magnesium, and instructs 15 minutes before and again after training rather than the 45-minute window every trial used. If you want the formula with the evidence, it is LactiGo. If you want the label that tells you what is in the bottle, it is Carnosport.
What is actually in each bottle
| LactiGo | Carnosport | |
|---|---|---|
| Carnosine concentration | Not stated on the label | 4% L-carnosine, stated |
| Menthol | 1.25% in the menthol version; a menthol-free version also exists | None |
| Magnesium | Magnesium sulphate | None |
| Other actives | Ethoxydiglycol, glycerine, xanthan gum | Ethoxydiglycol, glycerin, carbomer |
| Made in | United States | Denmark |
| Applied | 45 minutes before the hard effort | 15 minutes before, and again after |
| Claimed onset | Within the session | The next morning |
| Third-party batch testing | Informed Sport certified | None stated; describes itself as clean-sport approved |
| Trials on this product | Four published, one found nothing | None |
Both are 100 ml. LactiGo’s menthol version is registered with the FDA as an over-the-counter topical analgesic. That is what the 1.25% menthol buys it. Note which ingredient the filing names as active: menthol, not carnosine. Carnosport makes no such filing and lists carnosine as its only active.
The concentration question, which Carnosport wins
LactiGo lists L-carnosine in its ingredients and nowhere says how much. Carnosport prints 4% on the product page. The whole premise here is getting one dipeptide through skin. How much sits in the tube is not a detail. It is the number that decides whether the thing could work at all, and only one of the two firms publishes it.
We sell LactiGo and this still goes in Carnosport’s column. Nobody outside the manufacturer knows what concentration LactiGo is, which means nobody can compare the two formulas on the one variable that should matter most.
The evidence question, which LactiGo wins outright
Four trials of topical carnosine exist. All four used LactiGo, and one of those four found no effect on anything it measured — that one is on our evidence page at the same size as the others. Carnosport has been tested zero times.
Carnosport’s science page cites Beaven et al. 2025 — the triple-blind rugby sevens trial. That trial applied LactiGo. The rest of the page rests on general carnosine and beta-alanine physiology: Harris 1974 on muscle carnosine, Hobson 2012 on oral beta-alanine, Baguet 2010 on rowing. Good papers, none of them about a gel, and none of them about their gel.
Carnosport without menthol is the cleaner experiment
The long-running objection to carnosine gel is that menthol does the work. A carnosine gel with no menthol in it is the obvious way to settle that, and Carnosport is exactly that product. It is genuinely the more interesting formula to test.
Two things complicate it. First, LactiGo already sells a menthol-free version. You do not have to switch brands to run that test. Second, the 2025 trial already ran the controlled version of it. The placebo was ultrasound gel matched to 1.25% menthol. Both bottles tingled the same. Peak power was still 8–12% higher on the carnosine arm. The menthol question has an answer, and it did not need a second product.
- Topical menthol on its own is worth a small gain — sixteen studies, 191 participants, g = 0.27 — mostly in aerobic endurance, mostly through perceived cooling.
- That is a different variable from the peak power the carnosine arm moved. It is why a menthol-matched placebo changed the argument.
- None of this has been demonstrated for Carnosport’s formula, because nobody has run it.
Which one to buy
- You want the product the trials were run on, and batch testing you can check against Informed Sport: LactiGo. That is also the one we sell, and you should weigh this page accordingly.
- You are drug tested and want certification rather than a claim: LactiGo. Informed Sport screens every batch; "clean-sport approved" is a statement, not a programme.
- You react badly to menthol or cannot use a scented product at training: either the menthol-free LactiGo or Carnosport. Only one of those two has any trial behind the brand.
- You refuse to buy a supplement that will not print its concentration: Carnosport, and the reasoning is sound.
What neither company can tell you is whether a 4% stated concentration in a Danish carbomer gel behaves like an unstated concentration in a magnesium-and-menthol carrier. Absorption depends on the carrier as much as the molecule, and the only absorption data anyone has is from horses.
Sources
- Topical carnosine gel improves intermittent high-intensity exercise performance in world-class rugby sevens players (Journal of the International Society of Sports Nutrition, 2025) (opens in a new tab) PMC12427510
The trial both companies point at. It was run on LactiGo, and it is the source of the 8–12% peak power figure and the menthol-matched placebo.
- Transdermal carnosine gel fails to improve repeated Wingate performance in trained male cyclists (Journal of Sports Science and Nutrition, 2023) (opens in a new tab) 10.33545/27077012.2023.v4.i2b.193
The trial that found nothing, also on LactiGo. Counting it is the difference between a comparison and an advert.
- Transdermal delivery of carnosine into equine skeletal muscle (Comparative Exercise Physiology, 2021) (opens in a new tab) 10.3920/CEP200077
The only direct absorption evidence for topical carnosine, in horses — and the reason carrier differences between these two gels are not a trivial detail.
- DailyMed — LACTIGO menthol gel label (US FDA) (opens in a new tab) dailymed.nlm.nih.gov
The registered label: menthol 1.25% as the active ingredient, with L-carnosine and magnesium sulphate listed and no carnosine concentration given.
- Carnosport — product page (opens in a new tab) carnosport.com
Source of the 4% L-carnosine figure, the full ingredient list, the 15-minutes-before-and-after instruction and the "no menthol, no scent" claim.
- Carnosport — Science (opens in a new tab) carnosport.com
Where Carnosport cites Beaven et al. 2025 alongside general carnosine and beta-alanine physiology. Checked 22 September 2026.
- Acute topical menthol application and exercise performance — systematic review and meta-analysis (opens in a new tab) ro.ecu.edu.au
The size of the menthol-only effect, and the variables it moves.
LactiGo Performance & Recovery Gel, $55 for with menthol · 100 ml. Informed Sport tested, 30-day money-back guarantee.
Other questions
carnosine gel vs beta alanine
Carnosine gel vs beta-alanine
carnosine gel for horses
Carnosine gel for horses
does carnosine gel work
Does carnosine gel work?
best carnosine gel
The best carnosine gel
carnosine gel for bjj
Carnosine gel for BJJ
carnosine gel australia
Carnosine gel in Australia
carnosine gel side effects
Carnosine gel side effects
carnosine gel vs biofreeze
Carnosine gel vs Biofreeze

Try it yourself
LactiGo Performance & Recovery Gel
Ten pumps a leg, forty-five minutes out. That is the whole method.
Affiliate links. We earn a commission if you buy — it costs you nothing extra and does not change what we publish.
- Informed SportEvery batch tested
- 30 daysMoney-back guarantee
- 16,500+Athletes using it
- 45 minTo effect